If you are planning on going fishing in Oregon, it is essential that you purchase a fishing license beforehand. There are also several rules and regulations you will need to familiarize yourself with that are not covered in this article. Therefore, take some time out to find out what is required of you to go fishing in Oregon. Fishing licenses in Oregon are available online, or you can purchase one directly from a certified ODFW vendor. There are some specific steps you will need to follow to get your license, in this article we will take you through them.
Does Everyone Need a Fishing License in Oregon?
- Anglers over the age of 18 will need to purchase a fishing license as well as the certain endorsements and tags
- Children younger than the age can fish and collect shellfish without a license in Oregon
- Anglers between the ages of 12 and 17 will need to purchase a Youth License for $10. The license will allow them to shellfish, hunt, and fish. It also acts as an endorsement for the Columbia River Basin
- Anglers over the age of 65 can purchase a Senior or Pioneer License
- Members of the armed services and veterans can get a discount on their license
- You do not need a fishing license during the free fishing weekends
- You do not need a fishing license when taking bullfrogs or crayfish
- You do not need a fishing license if you own the land you are fishing on
- You do not need a fishing license when angling on land that belongs to a family member except when fishing for halibut, sturgeon, steelhead, and salmon
- If you are fishing for halibut, sturgeon, or salmon, you will need a Combined Angling Harvest Tag no matter how old you are
- Anglers fishing in the Columbia River Basin for sturgeon, steelhead, or salmon, will need to have a Columbia River Basin Endorsement
What Happens if I Don’t Have a License?
Going fishing in Oregon without a license is not a good idea. Not only do you need a license, you also need the appropriate tags, and if you are caught without them, there are consequences; these include the following:
- Seizure of equipment
- Seizure of fishing boat
- Fees and fines
- License suspension
- A criminal charge and probation
Because the consequences associated with fishing without a license are so serious, you will need to contact a criminal defense attorney in Oregon to help resolve your case.
The Cost of a Fishing License in Oregon
Buying a fishing license in Oregon is cheap whether you are a resident or a non-resident. The price of your fishing license will depend on several factors; however, in general, you should expect to pay the following:
- Annual Fishing License: $9.75
- Daily Fishing License: $1 per day
- Veteran and Disabled Discounts: Check the website for prices
How to Buy an Oregon Fishing License Online
There are several steps you will need to take to buy a fishing license online in Oregon, they are as follows:
- Go to the following website: https://myodfw.com/
- You will see a “Buy a License” button on the top right hand of the screen, click on it
- If you don’t have an account, you will need to sign up for one; if you do have an account, you will need to go through the log-in process
- If you have had a license in the past, you will need to verify your account.
- If you have never had a license you will need to create an account.
- You can purchase a Waterway Access Permit or a daily paper fishing license without creating an account by clicking on “Guest.” You can then print your license.
- Once you have logged in, there will be a catalog available for you to make your purchase, click on “Fishing”
- At this point, you will see a list of other documents you can add to your fishing license, select what applies to you and go to “Check Out.”
Social Security Number Verification
During the application process, you may receive an error message requesting that you verify your social security number. It may be the case that you already have an account but you forgot about it. If this is the case, you can just verify the account you already have and purchase your license.
However, to complete the process, you will need to go to the website’s contact page and request that your accounts are merged. You will only be able to do this during office hours, Monday through Friday between 8am and 5pm.
If you run into this problem and you are going fishing on that day, you can check out as a guest and purchase a daily fishing license.
Electronic or Paper License
You can either print your license documents or download them onto your phone using the website’s app. If you decide to print the documents, you can do so from any printer.
Buying a License for Someone Else
It is possible for you to purchase a fishing license for someone other than yourself. However, you can’t do it from your account, you will need to create an account for that person. If they want an electronic copy of their license, they will need to download the app onto their phone. However, if they don’t have a phone, you can print the license on their behalf.
Buying a License in Person
You can purchase your license in person by making your way to an ODFW license vendor or office. It is advised that you contact them beforehand to ensure that you bring the right supporting documents with you.
Going fishing is a fun and exciting time whether you are going with friends and family members. However, that excitement will be quickly short-lived if you don’t have a license or you get the wrong license. Therefore, before you go fishing in Oregon, be sure to do your research and so that you will have everything you need before going out on the water.